Health

I have been looking over BMI scales and ideal weights. I know the old NHS BMI scales are flawed now as they don’t take into account that muscle weighs more than fat. However I’m pretty sure I have minimal muscles, so I’m going to see what sort of weight I should be. NHS BMI Calculator

I am 5’1 and I weight 13 stone, according to this I should weight in the region of, 6.7-9.3, this feels like a huge drop in weight (4 stone at the least) but it also makes me think about the implications that having this extra fat is doing to my body.

Bella and Harry Potter 2014 169.JPG

We have Rheumatoid Arthritis (a chronic progressive disease causing inflammation in the joints and resulting in painful deformity and immobility, especially in the fingers, wrists, feet, and ankles) which in our family, mainly centered in the knees.

My knees already ache/click and I’m thinking that the extra weight is really speeding up the possibility of me developing this early. This isn’t a thought that brings comfort, it makes me feel that the burger I sneaked on a Wednesday night was not worth it.

I am however trying to think really positive about the whole situation. I don’t want to punish myself for eating bad in the past and making this a really negative life change.

me.jpg

My eating is very attached to my emotions and I want to make this into a change that I can carry on through my adult life. I don’t want it to be a ‘diet’, I want it to be a new habit. I have been reading a lot of Inthefrow blog and the lovely Victoria has an incredibly positive and healthy outlook on her attitude to life. I highly recommend you look at her blog, the effort she puts into each post is astounding.

I’ve particularly been reading her Advice section which is really inspiring and has helped me to see that I’m letting a lot of outside influences effect my own inner being, that its dragging me down and I need to learn to brush off other peoples negativity and hate, to really focus on repairing my own confidence.

This is a reason why I’ve been trying so hard to cook so many more things at home from scratch. I’ve recently learnt how to make Chicken Katsu Curry, Chicken Teriyaki and have been trying out healthier home made pasta sauces, to try and stop consuming so many calories and MSG additives. I was gifted a lovely cookbook by MrGuine for Christmas and cannot wait to try the recipes in there either.

Have any of you been struggling with your weight and self confidence lately, if so how did you make the change, have you yet, will you?

K

Leave a Reply

