Rose Gold Hair

If there’s one thing that’s a massive pick me up and confidence boost, it happens with my hair. Having a background in the hair industry (6+ years), I know how much of a difference it can make. I saw a beautiful colour that the wonderful Guy Tang created on a model and I instantly fell in love with it. He called it Antique Rose and I instantly thought, YES! Go check out his YouTube, amazing work!

I’ve not done a full on inventive colour since my college days but I found a wonderful hairdresser that I feel comfortable with (no easy thing) and I spoke to her about what I eventually wanted to get to. She was so on board and said it sounded like so much fun. So we started the journey.

It took about four-five months to get me as blonde as below, then I left it about seven weeks to let my hair re-coup (and the finances) before going for the next big blonding step. Here come the glamorous shots!

phone 050.jpg

We used high lift bleach painted on.

If any of you have never had a full head of bleach on the scalp I’d say be very wary. Some people can react really horribly to it, some go into shock, blister and/or burn. Horror stories happen, if you have a good hairdresser they’ll go through all this with you.

We started by painting it all over and strand picking some places that were still darker, cue looking like a oddball for 45 minutes.

We then did an emulsion of the Fudge Medium Rose Gold 7.23 leaving that on for 45 minutes under cap and heat, I didn’t get a picture of this as the salon was really busy and I’m not comfortable with taking random selfies in public as you can probably tell from above.

My hairdresser recommended a conditioning treatment for after and doused it with almond oil to help encourage my natural oils and take care of it. Got to say it still feels like silk. A routine I will carry on at home.

I use Ojon Rare Blend Oil in Moisture Therapy and Paul Mitchell Super Skinny Serum when caring for my hair.

It wasn’t as dark as either of us thought it would be but as soon as I stood in the daylight it looked beautiful. I am so incredibly pleased with this colour and cannot wait to show it off at all the Christmas events that I’ve got going on in December.

Sorry the photos aren’t the best, I’m hoping to get a tripod and photographer lights for Christmas to use my nice camera, for now I’m relying on my phone. (I got the tripod, from the lovely MrGuine, just working on lighting now!)

Before, during and after.

Cannot wait to see how it come out the next time, I adore it! As you can tell I get regular cuts, the blue in the before photo I had to chop off as I hadn’t bleached it properly or cared for it right, bad for an ex hairdresser. If your going to use bleach or want to lighten, I strongly recommend that you go to a professional, qualified hairdresser, for something like mine – level 3/above or lots of experience.

I go to Universal Hair Studios in Grange Farm and would highly recommend them. What do you think, have you done an overhaul to you hair? Does it make you feel better?

K

Leave a Reply

