Comforting Home Made Chilli Con Carne

My chilli is something I made for the first time about 3 years ago, I never had it growing up and it wasn’t something that my family ate. However I asked Mr Guine for some meal ideas and he suggested Chilli Con Carne, I said I’d look into it but made no promises.

I found a really simple recipe on the good ol’ interwebs and have been adding my own touch to it even since. I’ll give you the basic of what I do but this can be massively adjusted to taste, example I’m not good with spicy food, Mr Guine – the spicier the better.

Things you will need: Large Wok or deep pan, Spatula or large wooden spoon, Chopping board, Jug, Sharp knife.

phome 1076

Ingredients can vary, sometimes i throw in sweet corn, kidney beans, shredded carrot, obviously depending on allergies/tastes etc but here’s what I regularly use:

Onions x 1, Peppers x 2 (I only had 1 and 1/2!), Tomatoes x 2, Mince 1000g or 500g, Beef stock cube (I like the jelly ones), Smoked Paprika, Cumin, Mild Chili Powder, 1 x chilli or bell pepper, 1 x tin of chopped tomatoes, 2-3 cubes of dark chocolate (optional), Salt and Pepper, Sugar (brown is better for taste but white works fine), A frying oil of your choice.

phome 1075

Add all of the chopped up ingredients to a very hot wok or pan coated with your oil. Stir for 5+ minutes or until softened. Once softened its time to add in the spices of your choice, I tend to do this by eye as I’m used to how much I use now but if not try 2-3tbsp of chilli powder, 2-3tbsp of smoked paprika and 1-2tbsp on cumin. Stir this in well until all the vegetables are coated.

phome 1074

Once coated you’ll need to add your mince, I do this by ‘sprinkling’ it in, this helps it to break up and cook better without clumping. Its your choice whether or not you drain the excess fat, I normally leave it in for flavour, until I started eating healthier now I use 5% fat mince and drain any excess.

phome 1078

Once the meat is lightly browned add all of your wet ingredients – stock & chopped tomatoes. Allow to boil for a few minutes, stirring occasionally. Now you can add in the chocolate if you want, you can’t taste the chocolate when you eat it but it helps to bring out the depth in the meat and stock. Salt and pepper as you wish and add 2-3tbsp of sugar. Allow to cook down for another five minutes and if you haven’t done so yet you can have a taste test, warning it’ll be HOT!

phome 1077

Let it boil down and reduce the liquid, lower the heat, cover with a lid if possible (don’t worry if you can’t) and stir regularly. Once your satisfied with the consistency you can take it off the heat and serve! Mr Guine likes his with chilli flakes, fresh chilli and jalapeno’s, I like mine with sour cream.

Enjoy!

(Do you like my mums farm bowls?!)

K

Leave a Reply

