Oatmeal Chocolate Chunk Cookies

I’m a follower of the lovely Rice and Dine blog. They post amazing, real home comfort foods that I adore.

All beautiful, look gorgeously tasty and several of which I’m saving in a scrap-book for when we get our own place and I can cook/bake to my heart’s content.

As I’ve been on annual leave I thought I’d try out their latest recipe which is for Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies as they looked delish!

I pulled all the ingredients out.

dav

As I live in the UK I used a converter for the measurements which was very simple and can be found on a quick google search unless you already know them. Pretty easy.

I found when getting my ingredients out that I didn’t have enough chocolate chips so I chopped up some dairy milk into chunks as a substitute.

Standard dry mix together.

Sugar and butter mixed and beaten well until it was as fluffy as I could get by hand as I don’t have an electric whisk.

dav

Incorporated the egg.

Next I very slowly, bit by bit, blended the dry into the wet using a whisk.

I laid the blobs out on my tray.

A real lesson learned here, Rice and Dine recommended to  ‘Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls, 2 inches apart’.

I didn’t have enough room for this and I really don’t know why I didn’t just do more, smaller batches instead of doing it all at once. Patience and hindsight I guess.

Next time I’ll try the balls a bit smaller with much more space. I would also recommend beating with the whisk a bit more to help stiffen the mix too.

My first tray came out great however the other two had melted a bit more and bled into each other, so I had a massive block of cookie rather than round individual ones. No matter as they’ll still get eaten and I cut them into square chunks instead.

I would really recommend going and checking out their page, again amazing food with different difficulty levels of cooking with printable recipes and instructions. I cannot wait to be able to bulk make several of their recipes that I’ve saved!

Head over to Rice and Dine for ingredients/measurements and let them know if you make any of their recipes!

K

Leave a Reply

