Reading Recommendation – 3

Oh why do I not make more time for reading in my life?

Simple, I don’t put the bloody things down!

After reading Doctor Sleep, I realised that I’d only ever known about The Shining through the movie.the-shiningNow from what I remember Stephen King wasn’t a fan of the movie, he interviewed with Rolling Stone magazine. When the topic turned to the 1980 classic, Stephen made his hatred for Kubrick’s movie clear, saying:

“The book is hot, and the movie is cold; the book ends in fire, and the movie in ice. In the book, there’s an actual arc where you see this guy, Jack Torrance, trying to be good, and little by little he moves over to this place where he’s crazy. And as far as I was concerned, when I saw the movie, Jack was crazy from the first scene. I had to keep my mouth shut at the time. It was a screening, and Nicholson was there. But I’m thinking to myself the minute he’s on the screen, ‘Oh, I know this guy. I’ve seen him in five motorcycle movies, where Jack Nicholson played the same part.’ And it’s so misogynistic. I mean, Wendy Torrance is just presented as this sort of screaming dishrag. But that’s just me, that’s the way I am.”

076

Honestly I agree with him. The book is exceptionally better than the film. Jack’s decent into madness is so, so much more detailed, they skipped a massive amount in the film and made it seem like it happened over-night, when in fact it spanned years.

Danny has several very traumatic events happen to him throughout the book that were just glossed over or missed entirely, some which I found very unsettling to read so would have made great additions to the film.

And Wendy, lovely, lovely Wendy, who has the fierce nature of an angry mama bear was made out to be a wet rag in the movie. She was incredibly feisty in the book, fought back several times and came to the realisation, much like Danny, that Jack has slipped from them and was no longer their loved one. She had such gusto in the book and while I totally respect all the actors portrayals, as it’s still a good movie, it doesn’t hold a candle to the book. 083

The ending is also purely something else that brought me to tears. Seriously.

I highly recommend this as the depth of characters is just something else, as always with Mr King. If you like horror/thriller/suspense novels, you really won’t regret this one.

k

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

